stopping weed come back after slingle digging plot

• 9 Replies

cornwallguys

Hello I am new to allotments, and have a 30 x 40 ft plot which I have first skimmed off the top of meadow grass type weeds.  I have now (single) dug over the soil so its nice and loose, doubt if its been turned for years.  Now its got a ploughed field look.
I have removed all green weeds with the skimming off, however, the soil still has weed roots in, and I would be forever taking out ever bit by hand.
I have weed control material, and am aware of its use, however on the uncovered soil where I intend to plant veg and flower seedlings first raised in the green house, can anyone suggest something I can put on soil to stop me having to be down there weekly weeding?
Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
Andy

m1ckz

Re: stopping weed come back after slingle digging plot
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2011, 07:32 »
no sorry :D

Swing Swang

« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2011, 07:51 »
Mulch

gillian62

« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2011, 10:43 »
I have covered any area that I am not using with carpet etc.

But as soon as it is uncovered and dug up the weeds start.

My only suggestion is to keep weeding, not allowing them to get too big.  That is how I have done it this year.

And any area that I started on last year has certainly been easier to maintain this year as I got rid of the bulk of the weeds then.  I have just had the annuals to fight mostly this year.

Springlands

« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2011, 11:00 »
Welcome to the site - you really need to get rid of as many of the weed roots as you can - just take it a bit at a time. Then plant your crops far enough apart so that you can hoe between the rows when required. There is some really good information on clearing new ground in the "Growing help" area of the site along with lots of other advice. Link below.

http://www.allotment-garden.org/growing_information.php

compostqueen

« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2011, 11:01 »