Advice needed please for a novice!

• 7 Replies

jgsmuzzy

« on: August 11, 2006, 21:04 »
Hi all,

I really need your advice.  I have got the following garden (which, to my shame, I have hardly touched since we bought the house 2 years ago).  I now want to assign part of it to growing my own veggies etc.

Now, before I get totally berated for the state of my garden, the reason for wanting to do something with it is because of my little son, who I am sure will enjoy planting and watcing the plants grow.

If you take a line from the right hand edge of the shed back to the camera, the area to the left is the area I want to use as it gets the most sun.

My request, is how and where to start??  Any help would be much appreciated, and if you live close to me, I will get you a beer in!

Many thanks in advance

James (and Leo)

An absolute novice!

noshed

« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2006, 22:20 »
Unless the ground is really hard - start digging!
You could divide the area into terraced beds and do one at a time. Build a compost heap for all the grass and weeds you dig up.
You could plant some salad stuff as soon as you get a bit cleared.
Good luck
Self-sufficient in rasberries and bindweed. Slug pellets can be handy.

jgsmuzzy

« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2006, 22:32 »
Thanks!  The compost heap is already started (about 4 months ago), it is behind the camera!.

Hmmm salad stuff.  Nice idea, are there any particular types that would do well being planted this late?

Ta

James

noshed

« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2006, 22:46 »
Lettuces and any "mixed leaves" type things. Spring onions. You can also plant cabbages to over winter (or eat in the autumn). Good old radishes, if you like them. Swiss chard and spinach will probably be OK too.
You could always bung a bit of fleece over stuff when it gets a bit colder.

John

• Administrator
    • Low Cost Living
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2006, 09:09 »