Smelliest liquid feed imaginable...?

• 21 Replies

monkeywobbler

• Experienced Member
Re: Smelliest liquid feed imaginable...?
« Reply #15 on: May 27, 2011, 22:32 »
I can vouch for rhubarb leaves.
I can confirm that in my rudimentary experiment, it helps to keep cabbage whites away. However, this may be because there seem to be fewer around this year - either that or the smell is so bad it's repelling them for miles around.

I'm not joking - I've had people retching while I spray the stuff. It got on my legs when I was spraying the other day and my cat wouldn't come near me until I'd had a shower.

Matthew Gayles

« Reply #16 on: May 27, 2011, 22:38 »
I made a rhubarb and nettle tea at our allotment in a plastic bin,
im a nurse and ive smelled some seriously horrible things and it is definatly comparable.
I was a little stupid and it was stored in the shed - wow that was a mistake so it lives at the very bottom of the allotment now. I was informed by my brother in law, a environmental science student, that rhubarb has insecticidal properties and is great on brassicas! So the stench is a by product and something in it keeps bugs off.

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #17 on: May 27, 2011, 23:02 »
I think it's time just to post a reminder about home made pesticides from John, the site owner  :)

http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=65430.0
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

Squibbs

• 2nd Pumpkin Contest 2011
  • Experienced Member
« Reply #18 on: May 27, 2011, 23:52 »
I have a tub half filled with last years goose poo, nettle leaves and some other random stuff topped off with mostly rain water. Its not too bad until stirred - then the neighbour can smell it and she is 50 yards away.

My maths shows that bird is equal to or greater than the word...

Growster...

« Reply #19 on: May 28, 2011, 05:20 »
Interesting comments about mixing various teas...