A newbie Hi and goodbye to Bindweed

• 14 Replies

Classybird

A newbie Hi and goodbye to Bindweed
« on: May 25, 2011, 23:19 »
Hi, I'm new to this site so a big hello from me.  

I'm also an allotment newbie having been given mine in October so am hoping to get lots of useful advice from those of you who have been doing it a while.  

My plot apparently had someone use a rotavator on it a few years ago, then nobody has done anything to it since.  As you can imagine it was a complete mess and I worked hard strimming it, turning the soil over and pulling out whatever nasty roots I could see.  

It wasn't until spring started that I realised just how much of a bindweed problem I had.  It's literally everywhere!  So I am now concentrating on where I want my polytunnel to go and have been doing the painstaking task of going through each spade of soil and literally crumbling it with my fingers to remove any amount of the white root, no matter how short.  

Although I am getting all of this out, I can see that there are millions of very thin roots left over as thin as a strand of hair and I am wondering if they too will turn into the thicker white roots that I have been sieving?  I really don't know what to do for the best.

Using a weed killer isn't really an option as I will be predominantly growing food.  

In terms of growing things in the future, I don't know if I should be growing through weed suppressant sheeting, in raised beds with the sheeting and soil on top or what?  

I would be keen on hearing any advice you may have on how to get rid of this and how best to grow plus any one who has started to control this problem who was initially at the same stage as myself.  

Thanks for reading and I look forward to hearing from you all.  
« Last Edit: May 25, 2011, 23:36 by Yorkie »

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: A newbie Hi and goodbye to Bindweed
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2011, 23:35 »