Poor set on the broadbeans

• 12 Replies

Lardman

Poor set on the broadbeans
« on: May 20, 2011, 22:07 »
Suttons Dwarf.

Very poor set by the looks again this year - I've seen the bumbles going mad over them so Im a little confused. Dry pollen do you think? I might go back to aquadulce next year.

Hows everyone else getting on - or am I just a little odd for examine the plants for flower drop and mini pods  ::)

shokkyy

• Mishka
Re: Poor set on the broadbeans
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2011, 01:46 »
I've been having the same thoughts on my Imperial Longpod. It's my first time growing broad beans so I wasn't quite sure whether or not it was normal, but although I can see mini pods coming there seems to be quite a lot of flowers that have dropped without leaving a mini pod behind. And like you, I've been watching the bees going nuts for them for weeks now.

Paul Plots

« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2011, 07:08 »
I've been watering my broad beans - something I'd not normally do but it has been so dry.

I think in order to develop pods they may well need a little extra help if it's as dry where you are as it is here.  :(
Never keep your wish-bone where your back-bone ought to be.

JaK

• Happy half plot.
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2011, 08:34 »
Mine don't seem great either, lovely healthy plants full of flowers and happy bee's but hardley any beans.  :unsure:

shokkyy

• Mishka
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2011, 09:20 »
I've been watering my broad beans - something I'd not normally do but it has been so dry.

I think in order to develop pods they may well need a little extra help if it's as dry where you are as it is here.  :(

I have been watering them, and giving them BFB once a month.

lancashiregardeninggal

« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2011, 10:21 »
Good growth and flowering on my Bunyards Exhibition - I have had to water though  :)
'Is All That We See Or Seem But A Dream Within A Dream'........Edgar Allan Poe

Lardman

« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2011, 14:36 »