what have you got in the ground

• 16 Replies

needssomehelp

• Experienced Member
what have you got in the ground
« on: April 25, 2011, 07:00 »
im a bit confused as to when i should plant out my courgettes squashes toms etc.
so people on my lottie have already got beans in, while others are saying its too early for anything raised in the greenhouse! i know its a bit of a lottery where frost is concerned this time of year, but when would you take a chance?
« Last Edit: April 25, 2011, 16:28 by needssomehelp »
LISA X X X

fatcat1955

Re: what have you got in the ground, (Essex)
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2011, 07:46 »
Far too early for the plants you mention. Just heard the weather forecast and the north could well have a frost tonight. The weather front is moving south so could be with you by Weds night.

Benandbill

« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2011, 07:47 »
I'm no expert but I'll tell you what I know for what it's worth and what those down my plot are saying who've been growing for years.

Broad beans, yes, you can put them in now.  I planted ours abot a month ago and they're growing.  Runner beans they're telling me to wait until next month so I'll probably plant these in about the 2nd week of May.  You Can sow Courgette (Zucchini F‘) in May according to my seed packet.  I started tomato seeds in the house weeks and weeks ago, and some plants are now surviving in my small outdoor greenhouse / cloche in our back garden so if you haven't started your toms yet, start  them now in seed trays in the house....  

Good luck needsomehelp, give stuff a try anyway, what have you got to lose except the price of a packet of seeds?  ;)

jazzbyrd

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2011, 08:14 »