New chicks 6 weeks old one sick HELP

• 11 Replies

newchick2this

• Born in Scotland have Chickens,Dog,Horses,Cats
New chicks 6 weeks old one sick HELP
« on: April 09, 2011, 05:40 »
 :(I am very new to this and need help I came home tonight to find a chick not her self I just got them in March they are 6 weeks old. She was letting everyone climb all over her when I picked her up she doesn't try to get away kinda listless doesn't stand I put her in her own box with vitamin water and grain. As I did I not noticed a grape size lump on her wing at the top it is like an open sore could this be the cause also the others are showing signs of watery brown stools but could that be that I still have them under aheat lamp while ther coop is being built they are in an area that has 73 degree temp to. they don't pant I was told that was a sign of being to hot most are roosting as I have put a stick in there trough which is currently there house. These are my first baby chicks please help, I'm very worried about the one with the tumor.

muntjac

Re: New chicks 6 weeks old one sick HELP
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2011, 06:53 »
Firstly what breed are they This lump could be a number of things from a burst blood vessel to a broken bone, whichever it is i think that the chick is a lost hope, you will probably be better off culling it now before the rest of the chicks start to peck at it  regarding the stools what are you feeding the chicks they should  be on a mix of chick crumb and corn at 6 weeks,making sure they have grit and oyster shell with plenty of fresh water. you dont say if they are in the house or not  but unless it is cold you should only have the heat lamp on over night now you need to wean them off heat before you put them outside, a sign of them being to cold is crowding together,
still alive /............

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2011, 06:57 »