HELP!!

• 9 Replies

jacko

HELP!!
« on: April 08, 2011, 11:24 »
Our Bella, (who is a light sussex bantam and is approx 5 or 6 years old not too sure of the age when we got her) - was very well and robust over the winter but then got a problem with runny green poo - gave her antibiotics and she picked up a bit but was not scrathcing around vigourously - has never really got rid of the runny poo and become very slow - now for last two/three days has more or less stopped eating and drinking or when she eats seem sto just pick at food and it gets stuck on her beak - is quite thin compared to what she was as was quite greedy and plump before - she is the boss hen of three bantams - I fear that she is just an old girl and there is not much we can do - what are anyones thoughts on this?
Kathy

ANHBUC

• "You looking at me?!!!"
Re: HELP!!
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2011, 11:45 »
Kathy sorry to hear about Bella.  I am new to all this but hope that someone can give you some help really soon. 
Ain't Nobody Here But Us Chickens!
Bagpuss RIP 1992 - June 2012, 1 huge grass carp (RIP "Jaws" July 2001 - December 2011), 4 golden orfe, 1 goldfish and 1 fantail fish (also huge)! plus 4 Italian quail, 1 Japanese quail, 1 Rosetta quail.

helens-hens

« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2011, 12:09 »
She is a good age and it sounds to me like that because she didn't totally get over the runny poo stage she has gradually got very run down and if she stops eating & drinking it will only get worse.

If it was me I would take her to the vets but in the meantime it worth trying to syringe some liquid into her orally - perhaps some water with a little glucose dissolved into it?

Hope she gets better
Helen

jacko

« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2011, 12:20 »
Thanks for replies - we are trying to get water down her with a syringe for now - but its very hot today - so not sure how it will go
Kathy

ANHBUC

« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2011, 21:28 »
Any news on Bella Kathy?

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd