Green Rhubarb

• 5 Replies

Lottie Mary

Green Rhubarb
« on: April 06, 2011, 20:39 »
Hi All,

I've just baked a lovely sticky rhubarb cake (thanks to the recipes page!), using rhubarb from my allotment.  I've been lucky enough to inherit four well established plants - one of which has actually grown quite large!  I'm planning on splitting the largest two later on this year, but it is precisely those two plants that are giving mainly green stalks.  I'm a complete novice when it comes to rhubarb and I'm wondering if it's OK to eat?

Also - when is the best time to split the crowns?

Finally - should I only harvest a certain amount from each of the plants - or can I pick everything that looks good?

Thanks very much for your help!

flitwickone

• We Dig For Victory
Re: Green Rhubarb
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2011, 20:45 »
Hi All,

I've just baked a lovely sticky rhubarb cake (thanks to the recipes page!), using rhubarb from my allotment.  I've been lucky enough to inherit four well established plants - one of which has actually grown quite large!  I'm planning on splitting the largest two later on this year, but it is precisely those two plants that are giving mainly green stalks.  I'm a complete novice when it comes to rhubarb and I'm wondering if it's OK to eat?

Also - when is the best time to split the crowns?

Finally - should I only harvest a certain amount from each of the plants - or can I pick everything that looks good?

Thanks very much for your help!

it is advised to split crowns in winter when its nice and cold

it is advised that you pick until the growing season has finished but always leave at least 5 good stalks on so the crown can replenish it then over winter i give it a good load of manure rhubarb plants love it

as for green stalks i always let them redden up slightly
hope this helps

Kajazy

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2011, 20:48 »
Mine's similar - but a whole bunch of flowers have sprung up - do I leave them or chop them off?