Broody or sick?

• 5 Replies

hurrooke

Broody or sick?
« on: April 05, 2011, 13:15 »
Hi i am quite new to keeping chickens and i only have 2, My light sussex i thought was going broody but she used to come out for food etc, but for the last few days she dont want to come out at all! She isnt making any noises and doesnt try to peck when moved. She is still laying although thismorning found egg on floor not nest box so she must have laied while purched! I have locked her out for most of today and have seen her eat a bit but shes just stood on the ladder by the door, Her eyes still look bright abd comb is still red, should i be worried??

PaulineM

Re: Broody or sick?
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2011, 14:33 »
Hi
Has she plucked any feathers out from her breast, this is a sure sign that she is broody. When she is in the nestbox does she lie very flatten out, again this is a sign of broodiness.
I think if she was sick she would be sitting hunched up out of the nestbox too, try to see if she has a temperature by feeling under her wing and then compare this to your other hen.
I'm not very experienced with sickness so others might come along and help you more.  :)
1 Hubby, 2 children, 2 Welsummers, 1 Leghorn Banty, 1 Wyandotte Banty, 1 Barnevelder, 2 Isa Brown, 1 Rhode Island, 1 Goldline,1 Maran, 2 Mottled Leghorns, 1 Leghorn cockerel & 2 Jack Russells

bantam novice

« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2011, 23:11 »
Hello Hurrooke and welcome to the wacky world of henaholics  :)

I would agree with what PaulineM says and, like her, I'm not that experienced.  As well as checking the temperature you could check some other "usual suspects"

crop - is it hard or soft and squidgy
little visitors - has she been wormed recently, could there be lice or redmite
Poos - there is a good guide to chicken poos if you type that into the search box you will find some good info.  Can't give you the link just at the moment
eating and drinking - is she doing this as normal or has the pattern changed?