Compost v Manure

• 5 Replies

Kajazy

• Experienced Member
Compost v Manure
« on: April 04, 2011, 20:15 »
Ok - so I'm very new at this veg-growing game, and come up with the numptiest questions  ??? - but please could somebody explain to me when I should use compost and when I should use manure, and what their respective advantages/disadvantages are?

Also - how much are you supposed to use of each?

Thank you!

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: Compost v Manure
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2011, 21:10 »
There are no daft questions on here  ;)

(I don't know the specific answers to your questions)   :lol:

Both compost and manure are what is generically called 'organic matter'.  This means material which you add to the soil to improve its structure - it aids drainage in heavy soils and aids water retention in light soils, amazingly enough.

Although they have some nutrients, they are not used for that purpose as such, see here
http://www.allotment-garden.org/fertilizer/index.php

In general, you are not advised to add fresh manure to the soil as it can rob it of nitrogen whilst rotting down, and will be too strong for plants also growing at the same time.  People often add manure in autumn.

I use my compost in spring when I remember to empty the bins!  I put it on the ground where I'm going to grow peas, beans, courgettes or sweetcorn, as I think it helps them with water retention.  I've absolutely no idea if I should be doing something different - I've never properly understood this subject  ::)

Don't add either, though, where you are going to grow carrots or parsnips as they will fork or go hairy.
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

fatcat1955

« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2011, 21:15 »