Does it matter if they don't perch to roost?

• 5 Replies

Pepperpincushion

• Experienced Member
Does it matter if they don't perch to roost?
« on: April 01, 2011, 18:32 »
We've had our chickens for a week tomorrow and I so far I can't get them to roost on their perch  ??? They really want to sleep in the nesting box and the only way I've found to stop them is by filling it with upturned flower pots - but if there's even a little room they will try and squeeze in there!
I have tried going out at dusk and picking them up and placing them on the perch but they always just start fussing around and won't stay there. Am I going in too early? If I leave it till later will they stay "sleepy" and let me place them on the perch? Or do I still just need to keep persevering?
Or does it really not matter where thy sleep??
[They are 17 weeks old if this makes a difference]

Gerty333

Re: Does it matter if they don't perch to roost?
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2011, 21:09 »
Hi Pepper,
I'm new to chickens so I had this with mine a few weeks back! I don't think its the end of the world if they don't but its a good habit to get them to do it. Mine smashed and ate a few by sleeping in their nest box and if you've not long had them it should be quite easy to change.
With mine I waited until they were in and sleepy (so an hour or so after they've gone in) and went in with a torch and moved them. I took the nest box out every night (because I can with mine). After about 4-5 days one of them started going up herself and after about a week they both were, i leave the nest box in now because they know where to go! I just check on them when i tuck they away and occaisionally i have to move hansel because she doesn't always perch but apart from that they pretty much do it now!
Hope that helps.

magicfairy

« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2011, 21:30 »