Broody Hen (New to this Chicken lark)

• 2 Replies

Colernehens

Broody Hen (New to this Chicken lark)
« on: March 17, 2011, 11:12 »
Hi, i am very new to keeping chickens, and today one of my Orpington Hens has decided to get broody.
I have removed her egg and the egg her sister laid this morning and removed her from the hen house. She had some food and water and then returned to the hen house. I promptly removed her again and then closed the door so she can not get back in.

Is this ok, she seems happy pottering around in the garden and although she has been back and looked at the house a couple of times, when she sees the door is shut, she goes away again.

Will this work or is there something else I can do? I know they make very good mother, so I have thought about getting some chicks, but I am unsure as to whether the mother and chicks would need to live separately to my remaining two hens?
I have heard about putting broken shells in where the egg was, does this work?

Any advice gratefully received.

themagicaltoad1

Re: Broody Hen (New to this Chicken lark)
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2011, 11:52 »
A broody hen will often stay broody for about 6 weeks. Some people dunk their bums in cold water, I tried it but mine just enjoyed that! or you can keep them in a dog crate with a slatted floor so there's nowhere to nest. If you've shut her out of the coop and they have free range in the garden the chances are she will find somewhere else to nest, (among the crocosmia is a favourite). After they finish being broody it will usually be another couple of weeks before they start laying again. I just let mine get on with it now, although it seems to be catching as I currently have 3 permenantly taking up all the space in the nest boxes.

Casey76

Re: Broody Hen (New to this Chicken lark)
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2011, 12:21 »
Hi Colernehens, why don't you pop over to the welcom section and intruduce your self :)  We are a friendly bunch, and rarely bite ;)