POL rhode rock loss of appetite

• 4 Replies

JOP

POL rhode rock loss of appetite
« on: March 07, 2011, 21:06 »
Got a Young Rhode Rock ( now 22 wks so i am told) that's been very low for the last week.  We have been to the vets last Thursday and she's been given antibiotics till next Thursday.  Vet did a crop swab and said there was quite a lot of bacteria - how much more that there should be I wouldn't know. 
I thought she was picking up a the weekend when she had free range of the garden with her mates, but was not so sure this evening when they were out again before going to bed.  Ive bought her in tonight hoping a night and day in the warm will help.  Shes quite bright eyed not mucky at the back , just stands around ruffled and not overly interested in anything put down too eat.  Anyone had similar experience or give me any tips.

helens-hens

Re: POL rhode rock loss of appetite
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2011, 13:22 »
Hi JOP. I'm not very experienced but you need to try and keep her eating. Is she still drinking?

Have you tried her with pellet porridge (pellets & hot water) perhaps with with a few things she likes added e.g. sprinkling of corn or mealworms?

What were the initial symptoms that made you take her to the vet? Have you had her long?

Sorry for all the questions!
Helen

JOP

« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2011, 18:31 »
Hi ,
Yes she is still drinking. and eating bu so so little.  I have tried tempting her with all sorts. Layers Mash (but will try with pellets & hot water) Sweet corn .  She is picking up the odd bit of corn and will eat bread crumbs e - when I get home in the evening she is pecking as the grass , but then sits about whatching the other two mostly.