Complete Learner in need of help!

• 4 Replies

Zambezi

Complete Learner in need of help!
« on: March 01, 2011, 20:35 »
Hi,

I am really enthusiastic about getting an allotment site and god knows the amount of times I've had to contact the council and tell them there are plots disused!! With this in mind, Im hoping to have one within the next couple of months and with this I'm going to need to have a plan and hopefully some advice from experienced gardeners (as I've only kept a rosemary bush and basil before, I know I'm pretty ambitious). 

Could anyone please help as I really do have no idea where to start or even recommend some good beginner books I could buy as the ones I have look like they're for the more experienced gardener and I'm a complete beginner?!  :unsure:

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: Complete Learner in need of help!
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2011, 20:40 »
Welcome to the site and good luck in your lotty search  :)

Several things initially:

Browse this page from the main website (you can also access it by clicking on the Growing Help link underneath the top banner).  It contains lots of info including monthly guides, advice on clearing and planning an allotment.

I'd suggest you edit your forum profile (click your username) to show your general location as this is often relevant to answers to questions you may ask.

There are lots of books available.  The site owner John Harrison has published several, you can get them either online or via this site - click the link called Our Books.  They are written for the beginner in a really simple way.

If you do a search on the forum for books, you'll find some threads where people have posted their other favourite books too.
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

Ma and Pa Snip

« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2011, 20:50 »
Hi Zambezi  (great name by the way, will remind me of Livingstone Island each time I see it)

You're not alone here in being a complete beginner.