Broad bean help needed.

• 24 Replies

Jonajo

• Experienced Member
Re: Broad bean help needed.
« Reply #15 on: February 26, 2011, 15:21 »
I sowed a double row of them the other day straight into the ground - the soil is pretty dry, light and very workable. I did similar last year around the end of Feb and they were fine.

I helped a friend sow his broad beans last year into his heavy soil, but earlier - around the end of Jan - we simply dug a couple of bags of compost into it to loosen it up and they worked fine.
"Set down the wine and the dice and perish the thought of tomorrow"

Kristen

• K's Garden blog
« Reply #16 on: February 26, 2011, 15:22 »
P.S. Depends a bit on variety - not all are as hardy as the others - see back of packet for details, I sow Aquadulce which are about the hardiest you can get I think

shokkyy

• Mishka
« Reply #17 on: February 26, 2011, 17:46 »
I don't really have a good basis for comparison because I've never done broad beans before. The ones I'm doing are Imperial Green Longpod and Witkiem Manita - anybody know how hardy they are? The packet does say sow outdoors Feb or Mar, but then packets often say to sow things very early.

Kristen

• K's Garden blog
« Reply #18 on: February 26, 2011, 18:37 »
Not familiar with either variety, but I think if it was as hardy as Aquadulce the packet would suggest Autumn planting as well.

We're pretty much out of February without snow and severe cold, so I don't think you are going to have a problem in a draughty greenhouse ...

radiohead

• Experienced Member
« Reply #19 on: February 26, 2011, 20:36 »
Last year I started some off in toilet tubes and sowed some direct at the same time(mid march) that the toilet tube plants went out at about 4" tall.......in terms of cropping the difference was a matter of days.....I'm not going to bother starting any off early this year,just sow them direct as soon as the saturated ground here dries up a bit.

Kristen

• K's Garden blog