Complete novice Seeking Help

• 5 Replies

MikeH

Complete novice Seeking Help
« on: February 14, 2011, 11:42 »
Hi All,

I have always wanted to keep chickens but always felt I would need a bigger garden however it seems more and more people are keeping chickens in the town and so I have decided to give it a go. My garden is approx 30 m by 15 m so is certainly large enough to have them running around but I would like to build a coop and secure run for them as well. 

I would welcome any recommendations people might have for the breed of chicken that might be most suited to a town garden. We have a toddler and another baby on the way so would ideally love a breed that enjoy company.

Also could anyone tell me where I might get my hands on some plans for building the coop?  I have googled it but each result seems to direct me to another link where eventually you end up having to buy a book on the building of coops. I wouldnt mind buying the book if I could see the type of coops it ahs plans for? Any recommendations?

Many thanks

Mike

Casey76

Re: Complete novice Seeking Help
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2011, 12:03 »
Hi Mike, welcome to the very addictive world of chickeneering!

I really recommend The Haynes Chicken Manual 

As well as husbandry, housing, feeding, signs of illness etc it also has some basic coop plans, and a breed directory of the more commonly available breeds.

I have found it very well laid out, informative, and it uses plain, but not patronising, language.

With little ones in the picture, perhaps a kind bantam breed, such as Pekins may be suitable?  They do have feathered feet, which makes husbandry a little different to normal clean footed breeds, but they are robust, and tolerant, and also lay a good number of good sized eggs for a bantam.  They are also extremely cute!

MikeH

« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2011, 12:33 »
Hi Casey,