Incubators ??

• 9 Replies

Jae Dawn

Incubators ??
« on: February 04, 2011, 12:34 »
Hi,

Been reading on here about everyone starting up on the chicks and was wondering what brands of  incubators would be the best for a complete novice?  And on average what the price should be for a decent one?  Also if there should be a definately have to have feature? 

Really would like to have a go at raising a few (6-8) chicks.  If we move I am definately going to have a go!! 

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
Re: Incubators ??
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2011, 12:40 »
Ours is a bit big for 6-8 Jae, but if you can afford it, I'd definitely say go for an auto turner!  And if you can get it, one with an alarm if temp or humidity are too high or low!

inchhighfly

« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2011, 12:41 »
I have a brinsea mini eco - it's fab cost about £55 and holds about 6 - 8 eggs. I had great success with it las year - really easy to use

Jae Dawn

« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2011, 12:47 »
Hi Grannie...

Do you know about what the cost would be for one that has those type of features?? :wub:

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2011, 13:11 »
Hi Jae, never had a smaller one.  Ours takes 264 eggs and in total cost about £600!  But the one that Inchhighfly mentions looks good price, but prbably not auto turning.

have a google!

inchhighfly

« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2011, 13:17 »
the brinsea mini eco does do auto turning but doesn't have the humidity alarm - but I never had a problem with humidity or temp - good little machine

Casey76

« Reply #6 on: February 04, 2011, 13:18 »
Hi Jae,  When I first started looking at incubators, I only wanted a small one as I was only going to hatch a few each year... now I have 4 with a total capacity of 128 eggs!