I need help growing peas please

• 27 Replies

Kristen

• K's Garden blog
I need help growing peas please
« on: February 03, 2011, 09:56 »
I haven't grown peas for probably 20 years. I go in for a lot of faffing when raising plants (chitting parsnip seed on moist kitchen paper and growing on in newspaper pots) but once the raising season is done and things are planted out I leave them too it - weeding and watering is all they can expect.

So I suppose I think that Peas are a bit of a commitment, low yielding, and a lot of work to shell. BUT ... I know the kids will eat them, and that is persuading me :)

So best to assume I have zero knowledge pls :)

My lazy beds are 4' wide. I don't walk on them, so two rows will be difficult to pick in the middle (although see Alderman suggestion below)

Thus I'm thinking rows across the bed would be better, and I can sow a succession of 4' rows.

I think I'll need to use pea sticks as individual nets for 4' lengths are probably going to be too much trouble. All suggestions welcome.

I bought a packet of "Hurst Greenshaft" because there wasn't much choice in the garden centre, and I had a read of the Dr H in the garden centre (nice they provide a library as well as seeds!)  and he says "all the catalogues sing its praises" - I hope that's not tongue-in-cheek for perceived marketing-spin :)

I probably need to buy some in a bit more bulk, so I can choose some more suitable variety(s) at that time.

My plan is to grow them for the kids Summer holls (so July & August), and I was planning on sowing first week of April, and then once a fortnight thereafter until 1st May

How long a row do I need for each fortnightly sowing? (So I have enough for some meals, rather than just a couple of pods full, and maybe enough if the kids have friends round, but we don't need to grow-to-freeze)

The other thought I had was whether I should grow Alderman?  The Peas will be in the same bed as the Runner Bean - so erecting a taller frame would be OK