chicken compatability

• 7 Replies

milne899

chicken compatability
« on: January 15, 2011, 21:39 »
After several months of looking for a good chicken house I have finally purchased a very well made coop designed for at least 12 large birds. The house came with four point of lay cochins, not my ideal choice but I fell in love with them at first sight and I completly trusted the sellers. My girls are very content but I would like to get four more hens to add to my flock. It is important to me to choose something of a similar temperament, any ideas please.The house has been beautifully well made  8 foot by 4 foot and 5 foot high with 5 external nest boxes. COMPLETE NOVICE BUT LEARNING FAST. Thankyou.

compostqueen

Re: chicken compatability
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2011, 21:59 »
Have a word with the seller. If it's a long time since you got them it might not be that easy to merge two flocks and you might be better off sticking with what you've got

I don't know that much though but someone here will certainly know  :)

Jeanette

« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2011, 11:24 »
If you do get some more try to get them about the same age and size. When you get them keep them apart for a couple of weeks quarantine incase they have any illness that they can pass on to your other girls. Keep them so that they can see each other but not to close , then after a while move them closer together. When you do put them together there will be some quarrels have some purple spray (gentian violet) to cover up any redness or dare i say blood. Have plenty of feeding and water stations doted around so the new ones can get to food. Also have plenty of places that they can get into for cover buckets on its side is ideal for this.
Hope this has'nt put you off.

bantam novice

« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2011, 17:00 »
Hello Milne899 and welcome to the wacky world of henaholics  :)