chlorine

• 16 Replies

bluemaran

chlorine
« on: January 13, 2011, 18:51 »
Does the chemical chlorine used in our water supply harm the chickens who drink it. Is it ok to use water with addatives if you believe in organic(chemically unmodified) feed only,or is it accepted to unpure water.Would bottled water be the correct choice if  used to compliment the organic feed.Then you could say your chucks were chemical free

jinty1911

Re: chlorine
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2011, 20:53 »
That's a very serious question!! I suppose if you wanted to be totally chemical free it would be cheaper to use one of those water purerify things.  On the other hand tap water is good for the hens teeth  :D  :D  :D Sorry just had to say that.  :D
Jinty

otis pony

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2011, 21:10 »
im no expert but doesnt bottled water contain some type of contamination from the plastic bottle its stored in?
...............happiness is wanting what you have, not having what you want.................

orchardlady

« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2011, 23:09 »
I've kept hens for a very long time now and have always given them tap water. The eggs are beautiful and the hens live a full and usually long life. The oldest hen I've had was 9. Unless you personally never drink tap water I would stick with it. Never use softened water that uses salt pellets or salt blocks. If you refresh your hens water in the evening when they go to bed some of the chlorine will disperse by the morning.

helens-hens

« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2011, 14:06 »
I am not sure that the level of chlorine in tap water is in anyway harmful but I have noticed that, along with many dogs I know, that the hens prefer to drink any old natural rainwater they may find in puddles etc in the garden, the more rank looking the better!

I occasionally give mine water collected in a water butt but some people advise against this but Ihaven't seen any ill effects so far.
Helen

mr.mellow