Hello from worcestershire

• 12 Replies

welshthistle

Hello from worcestershire
« on: January 02, 2011, 21:17 »

Hi

Im new to chickens but have always hoped to have a big enough garden one day to have some.I have just purchased 3 hens 9months old they are lovely  a cochin,orpington and cochin cross.They seem to be settling in well and my 1st egg after just 5days (very exciting).
My orpington rosie seems to be the top hen bossing wilmar and honey about,they are now able to be free in the garden during the day which is nice.i was told orpingtons were quiet but rosie seems to like the sound of her own voice is this normal? I thought this was because she didnt like being confined to her run as she was used to being on a farm with lots of open space,she does seem better since having free acess to garden.Today was her worsed but then found an egg could this be why?
Alittle worried incase neighbours complain as she was making a din.Any advise would be great,hopefully she will settle as early days for all of us.

darkbrowneggs

• Experienced Member
    • Dark Brown Eggs
Re: Hello from worcestershire
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2011, 21:38 »
Hi - I am in Worcestershire also   :)

Its very exciting to get your first hens and first eggs.  Enjoy them :happy:

The hens do cackle a bit after laying an egg, but this does not normally last for more than about 5 mins, and it is not just before dawn which is generally when the cockerels crow, so your neighbours shouldn't be too affected.  I am sure a hen makes less noise than a dog greeting the postie or the newspaper deliverers.

All the best
Sue
I love my traditional clean legged English Cuckoo Marans

CluckyChicken

• Experienced Member
    • Georgina's Araucanas
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2011, 22:47 »