Broody Hen

• 20 Replies

flocko

Broody Hen
« on: July 30, 2007, 11:53 »
Can anyone please give me some advise on a broody hen.We have four hens who all use the same nest box to lay their eggs in even though there are five to choose from.
The problem we have is that one hen has gone broody and the other chickens are still laying in the same nest box pushing her out of the way,she is very agitated and sits on all of the eggs.

I have just purchased some fertile eggs on Ebay for her to sit on. Do I leave her where she is and move the other chickens or do I move her.
Any advise would be appreciated.

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
Broody Hen
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2007, 12:07 »
Welcome to the site flocko

I've no personal experience of hatching eggs but I do know that you should separate your hen to brood eggs in her own accommodation and small pen.

There are many members on this site who are experienced [chicken] breeders and will be able to give you their best advice  :D

This might help in the meantime:

http://feathersite.com/Poultry/BRKBroody.html

chelle

Broody Hen
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2007, 13:34 »
Hi flocko, welcome, im no eggspert, but i also had a broody sitting for 4 days on some marked eggs, also got eggs off ebay arrived today, when i moved her she wouldnt sit at all and is now back with the rest of the clang, maybe i moved her too soon and it was daylight, maybe should have waited until night, just pleased i didnt put the fertile eggs under her, so in the incubator they go

alan42

• Experienced Member
Broody Hen
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2007, 14:13 »