Help me plan potatoes (complete noob)

• 12 Replies

Munchkin

• Experienced Member
Help me plan potatoes (complete noob)
« on: November 18, 2010, 19:24 »
I'm early I know but I'm sure there is lots to learn. I've grown potatoes successfully once before in a tub. This time I'm keen to get two of these to stack up (they sell the extension kits to make this possible)

http://www.amazon.co.uk/GARLAND-RAISED-GROW-BED-HEALTHIER/dp/B00139PKYS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1290107297&sr=8-1

I've already got one of the grow beds in the back yard and I'm very pleased with it. I like the fact that the sides can be taken apart if neccesary which would be ideal for harvesting potatoes. Ok so the burning questions are:

Could I plant first earlies in the grow bed and then also plant some potatoes for next Winters crop? is next Winters crop classed as a late main crop?

Potatoes are a huge staple in my diet and I just want to achieve the best results with careful planning and not be buying any from the shop.
« Last Edit: November 18, 2010, 19:26 by Munchkin »

prakash_mib

Re: Help me plan potatoes (complete noob)
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2010, 20:52 »
Cant understand the question fully.
Are you going to try plant one row of earlies and one row of late main crop side by side. This is allright as long as you feed them properly.
Are you going to plant first earlies first and put the late mains after first earlies harvest. bit of an impossible task as the soil would have no nutrient at all and mind you potatoes are greedy feeders.
If you dont meen both then I am sorry to create more confusion  :)
One kid is handful. Two kids.... Example for chaos theory. Hats off to my mum who managed three...

Munchkin

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2010, 21:15 »
Yeah, I could have worded the OP better. I'm trying to ask if I could plant different varieties side by side in different seasons. Is that possible? Also is the late main crop the one that lasts throughout Winter?