onion sets and seed potatoes

• 11 Replies

juliec

• Experienced Member
onion sets and seed potatoes
« on: November 16, 2010, 10:15 »
well those of you who are getting to know me know im new to this and my imagination sometimes runs away with me.  So heres the next one.

I have grown potatoes in the past from  ones which started shooting in my veg rack and know that that works to an extent.

BUT

If we buy small onions (sets) and small potatoes (Seeds) why cant we just buy new baby potatoes and a bag of Asda smart price onions (which are smaller than normal) plant these out and the potatoes grow more baby new potatoes and the onions just grow bigger?

Thanks Jools

prakash_mib

Re: onion sets and seed potatoes
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2010, 10:51 »
you will certainly get varied response from here on putting in supermarket stuffs. I would be very careful on them as they would carry disease (not fatal if eaten  :D but for growing). thats why we pay a premium on certified seeds from the producers.

If we buy small onions (sets) and small potatoes (Seeds) why cant we just buy new baby potatoes and a bag of Asda smart price onions (which are smaller than normal) plant these out and the potatoes grow more baby new potatoes and the onions just grow bigger?

the onions acts as reservoirs for sprouting and put whatever it has in new plant the final bulb will be a new one (you wont get a bigger bulb from the current one I think)
with onions they might carry allium virus which damages your plot to greater extent.

on potatoes different potatoes grows/produces different all over UK. because we have varied climate all over. It is better (if you want a good produce) to get a proper certified seed potato which grows well in your region.
One kid is handful. Two kids.... Example for chaos theory. Hats off to my mum who managed three...

Kleftiwallah

« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2010, 12:21 »