To lay or not to lay?

• 5 Replies

helens-hens

To lay or not to lay?
« on: October 07, 2010, 21:06 »
Hi there

I am hoping someone may have come across something similar. I have a black rock hen, in her first year, who has been laying probably 6 days out of 7 since I had her (in April). For the last couple of weeks (notably since the days are getting shorter) each time she has laid it has been quite early at about 0830. The last 2 days she has been going into the nesting box at the same sort of time  but not laid any eggs.

She looks as though she is in lay (bright red wattles etc) and appears in good health and acting normally in every other way, with a good appetite etc. I have picked her up and gently felt underneath but I can't feel anything hard/egg shaped but as I am new to this I compared her to my other hen and they appear the same (the other hen is laying normally).

This doesn't seem right to me even if she appears well in other respects & I am bit worried  - does any one have any ideas?

Many thanks in advance

Helen
Helen

helens-hens

Re: To lay or not to lay?
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2010, 10:16 »
Just an update - this is now the 3rd day where she has gone up to the nest box early (about 0800 this morning) but produced nothing. She still looks as though she is in lay, looks healthy & normal in every way.

I am getting worried - has anyone any ideas?

Any thoughts / ideas much appreciated

Helen

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2010, 10:20 »
I think she would be in distress all the time if she had an egg stuck.

Kathie

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2010, 14:27 »
Hi there,
We have 5 hens that had been laying well but we haven't had any all for almost a month now.  I think it's the time of year
3 dogs now, 2 passed RIP Poppy and Paige, one wonderful husband and a new adventure on this wonderful island

Aidy

• Location: Born n bred Lancastrian living in tropical Blackpool