weed killer recommendations please

• 14 Replies

cakemaker

weed killer recommendations please
« on: September 26, 2010, 17:31 »
Hello everyone, I am very new to all this as my OH is the gardener in the family. Due to his recent ill health , our allotment is weed filled and I would like to help and surprise him by making a start on clearing the weeds. Can anyone recommend a weed killer that I could perhaps use that wouldn't harm any future crops that we would like to grow please.
I am sure I will have lots more questions to ask but one step at a time and I do hope I have posted in the correct place. Please forgive me if its not.

Sue :)

Goosegirl

Re: weed killer recommendations please
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2010, 17:41 »
A systemic weedkiller at this time of year won't do, although Weedol will kill annual weeds like grass etc. I would get plenty of cardboard and newspaper or plastic sheeting and cover the area, then you can lift one bit at a time and dig - get friends around to help and do them dinner or a takeaway as a thank you.
I work very hard so don't expect me to think as well.

Lee1978

« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2010, 17:54 »
You may still get away with Roundup as the weeds are still growing. this does not have any residual effect as it is systemic ;)

Good luck
Lee

binner

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2010, 20:39 »
as above, round up if your quick, it is de-activated on contact with soil so it wont harm your next crops
first year grower

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2010, 20:52 »
Consider Resolva.

http://www.resolva-weeds.com/how-does-it-work/

Contains an "instant" weedkiller and Glyphosate. Knocks the top back quickly whilst working on the roots. Turned my nettles black in about 18 hours, but don't expect it to work quite as fast at this time of year.