Ducklings mother hen

• 5 Replies

Kathie

• Experienced Member
Ducklings mother hen
« on: September 12, 2010, 09:57 »
Hi,
We have some 5 week old Indian Runners hatched by our Light Sussex Snowy, at the moment they are in a pen but mum is let out during the day.

My question is, when we let them out to free range what happens.  Will Snowy stay in the duck house or will she return to the coop. She stays close to the pen now and we encourage her back at night. She is very protective and a really good mum but does not have anything to do with the other chickens during the day. 
Not sure this makes sense :unsure:

Can anyone who has had the same experience help me out please?

Thanks
Kathie
3 dogs now, 2 passed RIP Poppy and Paige, one wonderful husband and a new adventure on this wonderful island

bantam novice

Re: Ducklings mother hen
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2010, 21:18 »
Hello there,
I've had no experience with ducks but from what I have read and heard the mother hen will lose interest when she is ready and will rejoin the other hens at that point.  I'm sure someone more experienced will be along to answer your question more fully.   :)
11 bantams (and counting!) 2 dogs 1 cat

orchardlady

« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2010, 22:04 »