New to chicken keeping" need some advice please ; -

• 4 Replies

fuzzywuzzy

New to chicken keeping" need some advice please ; -
« on: September 04, 2010, 10:40 »
Hi to everyone, I have been keeping chickens now for about 4 months i have had some problems and am learning new things every day, reading forum pages like this help me out alot even tho you dont know it (but you kow now) and i would like to say a big thankyou to you all.

I have a problem with one of my chicks i have tried looking on the internet for some advice and to see if there are any other people that have had the same problem but can not find anything - so may be some one here can help me?

I have 9 chickens - 4 silkies, 5 leghorns, i have hatched some eggs and got two georgous chicks, both polish - one a black and white crested, and one a chamois. They are two weeks old and are in a brooder and doing well, I have an electric hen and the chicks are eating medicated starter food some small treats now also which include very little bits of bread, meal worms and little bits of greens. One yesterday i noticed had a sore on its head in the middle of the crest - this morning it looks red and sore - i have wiped it with antiseptic and put some petroleum jelly on top to protect it and keep it clean. I do not know if its being pecked by the other chick or if its somthing more sinister? :( If any one has come across this before and its sinister may please get in contact. As i do not know if its somthing to do with the breed.
Sex of both chicks at the moment are un-known to me.
harley 005.jpg

themagicaltoad1

Re: New to chicken keeping" need some advice please ; -
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2010, 20:19 »
Hi
It may well be another chick pecking at it, unfortunately now it has a red/ sore area it will be even more of a target. Can you spray it with a bit of purple spray (gention violets) to deter whoever the culprit is.

alancane

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2010, 21:42 »