Poorly ex-batt

• 12 Replies

tammyc

Poorly ex-batt
« on: September 03, 2010, 16:50 »
Hi - I'm a newbie and I'm looking for advice on my poorly chicken

We have 2 ex bats that are about 3 years old.  One started to lose weight a few months ago and after talking to a POL lady near us she suggested they had worms as she wasn't eating, sitting in a corner, shaking her head and runny poos.

I was giving them verm x every 2 months but she said that if they don't like it they will intentionally pick it out.  So i went to the local farm store and we bought flubenvet.

Unfortunately she wasn't eating at the time so I had to mix their pellets/flubenvet with water to make a porridge then syringe feed her at breakfast, lunch and dinner. 
After 7 days of this she did start eating her food but she is sooo skinny.

Then today she did the weirdest poo i've ever seen.  I've attached a picture of it.  It was a light pink rubbery consistency on the outside and when we cut it open ( :tongue2:) it was a darker pink inside. - IS THIS NORMAL!! ? :blink:

She really is skinny so any advice on feeding her up would be helpful and if any one has seen a poo like this before it would be great to know if there is anything wrong with her.
Her comb is floppy as well at the moment but I'm not sure if that because she not been eating much.

Many thanks in advance

Tammy x
DSC_0449.JPG

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
Re: Poorly ex-batt
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2010, 18:26 »
Hi Tammy

I've moved your post to the Hen House forum where you will get some very good advice.

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2010, 19:09 »