Our hen is ill - help requested

• 15 Replies

elfinblues

Our hen is ill - help requested
« on: August 30, 2010, 12:14 »
Hello. This is my first time on this forum - I'm searching the internet trying to work out what might be the problem with our hen and am hoping that some kind people here may be able to help?

We have four ex-battery hens who have all been in excellent health. Yesterday, however, my favourite - Rita - started looking unwell: puffed up and standing on her own away from the others. We brought her into the warmth of the house overnight but have put her back out today to see how she eats and drinks. We've noticed that she's drinking a lot, but we've not seen her eat. Her crop seems to be larger than usual this morning (but not hard - more soft and squidgy), and she is frequently trying to poo but nothing or only small amounts come out. Also, whilst gently massaging her crop a few minutes ago, she regurgitated most of the water she's been drinking. It seems that she has a digestive problem of some kind - we initially thought constipation, but that doesn't explain the large crop of regurgitating water. Does anyone have any ideas as to what it might be and - most importantly - the best thing we can do to help her?

THank you so much in advance for any advice you might be able to give.

WIth best wishes,
Steve

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
Re: Our hen is ill - help requested
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2010, 12:18 »
HI and Welcome,

She does sound as though she has a crop problem.

Have a read through this http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=4345.0  scroll down to the bit about crop problems.  Let us know if that fits your girl.

elfinblues

« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2010, 12:59 »