Raised beds or pots???

• 5 Replies

Becky H

Raised beds or pots???
« on: August 20, 2010, 11:12 »
Hi all, I am a newbie as you can probably tell!!!  I am currently on a two year waiting list for the local allotments so am aiming to make the most of the small backgarden I've got in the meantime. 

My question is this would I be better to use pots and try for container growing or a single raised bed of 3" by 5" with additional pots??

I look forward to spending loads of time on here in the future!!

Bex

JayG

• Global Moderator
Re: Raised beds or pots???
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2010, 11:59 »
Welcome Becky!

We do have a few jokers on here ( ::)) who will no doubt mention that a "3"X5"" raised bed will only be large enough to grow 1 lettuce and that 3'X5' would be more productive!

Assuming there is an element of either/or when it comes to pots v raised bed it does depend to some extent on what you want to grow; many things can be grown in pots but equally many things either need or will do better in open ground.
Sow your seeds, plant your plants. What's the difference? A couple of weeks or more when answering possible queries!

One of the best things about being an orang-utan is the fact that you don't lose your good looks as you get older

AndyRVTR

« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2010, 12:05 »
Hi Bex.... what type of veg are you wanting to grow?  :)

noshed

« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2010, 12:10 »
I would recommend John's book: http://www.allotment-garden.org/book/small-space-growing.php

Good, sensible advice
Self-sufficient in rasberries and bindweed. Slug pellets can be handy.

diggerjoe

« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2010, 12:19 »
HI Becky,