How much to water tomatoes?

• 10 Replies

cjskts

How much to water tomatoes?
« on: August 12, 2010, 21:43 »
I cant win with my tomatoes. I water them and ended up with blossom end rot, so i watered them more and now they are splitting. My tomatoes are in grow bags with pots and are in the greenhouse. One type is Moneymaker, not sure of the other variety as they were donated by another allotment holder. I have always watered them in the evening and made it up there every evening, but all of a sudden, they arent happy.

I am feeding with Tomorite as directed and watering all other times.

The tomatoes do still taste fab (way better than shop bought) and i'm still eating the split ones.

I watering every night too much now they are fruiting? (will add that this is my first year with an allotment)

Ice

• muck spreader
Re: How much to water tomatoes?
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2010, 21:49 »
Are you changing the amount of water according to how dry the compost is?  Regularity isn't the answer, maintaining a consistent level of moisture in the compost is best.  Also, water from the bottom if you can.
Cheese makes everything better.

Bernard

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2010, 22:14 »
I used to use growbags in my greenhouse for tomatoes but a few years ago started growing direct in the ground. The result is much better control.

cjskts

« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2010, 09:52 »
I generally fed/watered them 2 watering cans between 3 growbags. Just can't get a happy level now.

Growing in ground isn't an option, i dont think, i'll ask hubby.

Livinhope

« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2010, 12:27 »
I grow mine in black buckets (so have to water from top) and make sure that the compost never looks dry.  Doesn't blossom end rot occur when they have been allowed to dry out then watered copiously?

Ice

• muck spreader
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2010, 13:57 »
Yes, letting the soil dry out can cause this. 

JayG

• Global Moderator