problem with my green beans

• 4 Replies

juliec

• Experienced Member
problem with my green beans
« on: August 11, 2010, 14:51 »
 :(

Hi all, im new to this so thanks for any one who can help me, ive grown a batch of green bean plants which all look very healthy, they have lovely flowers but then once the flowers are fully open they crumble off the plant.   I cnat see any pests and have sprayed the plants with bug go just in case its bugs, but its driving me potty as they have been flowereing now to 2 months getting well fed with tomatorite and ive not had a single bean.... Help

many thanks

Julie

JayG

• Global Moderator
Re: problem with my green beans
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2010, 15:21 »
Hi again Julie, I've followed you here from the "Welcome" forum!

First thought is that you shouldn't spray the plants with anything which might kill pollinating insects; you need them to get beans!

I'ts not unusual to lose a lot of bean flowers, but the situation usually improves with a change in the weather (less hot, less windy etc) It is quite unusual not to have any bean set for 2 months though.

What do you mean by "crumbling" (unpollinated flowers usually just fall off; sometimes short-tongued bees chew through the base of the flowers because that's the only way they can reach the pollen, and I have known sparrows peck the flowers off "just for fun"!)

Keep the plants well watered; this is more important than feeding at this stage.
Sow your seeds, plant your plants. What's the difference? A couple of weeks or more when answering possible queries!

One of the best things about being an orang-utan is the fact that you don't lose your good looks as you get older

juliec

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2010, 15:27 »
Ahh. your have given me a big clue, maybe my flowers are not getting polinated!! I havnt seen many insects in them but have scared a few greenfinches out of the bush.

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2010, 15:29 »