Raspberries not fruiting!

• 12 Replies

tinalfc

Raspberries not fruiting!
« on: August 08, 2010, 23:35 »
Hi All,

I'm new to all this posting on forums and stuff though I have consulted such areas for advice in the past!

I need some help! I have 2 varieties of raspberries in my garden - summer and autumn fruiting.  I planted them last year and got a bit of fruit - nothing to boast about though! As it was their first year, I let them off! I pruned them properly last year and although they have grown enormous and have flowered, there is no fruit! The flowers are brown and look dried up! I can see the beginnings of a berry on a couple (and only a couple!) of flowers but they will not develop any more than that!  There are plenty of insects around (I have grown bergamot near them) and I can see that pollination is taking place but still no fruit! I would expect the autumn canes to start fruiting now - but nothing! There are no other obvious signs of disease or pests so I just don't know what has happened!

I'm in Leicestershire in case that helps anyone!

Would appreciate any advice!

Many thanks

Tina

KT

• Experienced Member
Re: Raspberries not fruiting!
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2010, 23:38 »
Are they getting enough water? mine are in a quite shady spot and the tree's shelter them, i find that even if it rains regually they don't get enough water because the trees act as an umbrella, so i have to water them seperatly.

Paul Plots

« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2010, 01:59 »
Hello tinalfc...

Please do go to the Welcome pages and introduce yourself so others know you have joined us. It's nice to say hello.

Also... if you could let us know more or less which part of the world you are in answers to any questions that you post can be better suited to your region.  ;)
Never keep your wish-bone where your back-bone ought to be.

gillie

« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2010, 07:30 »