anyone show their veg at local shows? i have a few questions

• 31 Replies

LivvyW

• Experienced Member
That time of year again,  and i'm showing a few veg i've not tried before, wondering if anyone can give me some guidance.

(Before anyone takes offence, its only a bit of craic, and i grow to eat not, to produce perfect or huge specimins for the show)

1. 6 beans on a plate. I'm showing french beans. Will get the best matching six, but how long is too long. (its not a LONG bean category)

2. mix of veg. I'm including curly kale, should i put in a bunch of leaves or harvest the plant and include the 'head'.
Im also including a bunch of chillies, any clever way to bunch them together.

Any guidance most welcome.

Liv.

alibean

• Experienced Member
Hi! Well, I'm no expert but have had a go at the local show, so ...

French beans - would depend on the variety (best to always put this on exhibit as seems to get extra points)   If a climbing bean would go for about 6 inches, but if a dwarf variety would aim for about 4

As for Kale, would go for the whole head (just tidy up it's bottom, so to speak)

Bunch of chillis?  Perhaps tie them up with some raffia (if tops left on), alternatively display them is some sort of 'spray / pinwheel' to maximum effect.  I would be careful about using sand etc unless specified in the show guidelines.

Mmm - as for a bit of a craic - you'd be surprised how competitive it gets!  (I certainly put a few noses out of joint last year with longest runner bean..........)   Good Luck!

paintedlady