School holiday = neglected plot

• 5 Replies

Missy1970

• Experienced Member
School holiday = neglected plot
« on: July 27, 2010, 09:26 »
Hi All

Now my daughter is on school holidays my couple of days a week on the plot have seriously been reduced to a quick hour here and there, there really is no point trying to get any serious weeding done when she comes over so my plot is looking rather neglected hopefully I will get over for an hour or two tonight rain permitting -

Any one else struggling with time??

Missy

Elcie

Re: School holiday = neglected plot
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2010, 09:33 »
I love the school holidays as I work in a school!  However, I am off to India tomorrow for just under 4 weeks so am leaving the plot in the (?)capable hands of Elcie's OH - oh dear!

I can imagine that it is difficult for those with small children to get much done though when they are around.  I would be tempted to take them there little and often as they are then more likely to get used to the idea of being there and not get too bored  being there a whole day.  That is the plan when my grandson arrives anyway!

Jonajo

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2010, 09:40 »
actually a quick burst of weeding now and then is probably all it needs: I prob spend about 30mins a week tops on weeding after I did a really hefty weeding session at the start of the season, so this 30mins or so each week keeps at bay the weeds with relative ease. And to be honest this time of year all I need to do is a quick hoe over the place and leave it.
"Set down the wine and the dice and perish the thought of tomorrow"

themoog

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2010, 12:11 »
Similar problem here. 2 small boys (3 years and 7 months old) and a hubby who often works away.

I get by on doing a Saturday morning when hubby is here and an afternoon when one son is at nursery and the other at Grandma's. Hubby away during the school holidays makes for a weedy plot  :blush:.