Newcomer to allotment life...advice gratefully received

• 12 Replies

TheGoodLondonLife

I've recently become an allotment owner (hurrah!) - taking on one that hadnt been 'used' in about three years. Several weeks later (and after reading lots of websites and two of Johns books) we now have a bed that's nearly ready to use...I think?? I had a few questions that I hoped more experienced growers could help with?...any comments gratefully received. I am a complete beginner.

1) We had a LOT of couch grass on the plot. I want (aspire) to be an organic grower but we couldnt get it under control (the roots were about an inch thick and about a foot down) so applied some glysophate and left it about three weeks while we went on hols. I think the majority of the weeds have now been removed, although I dont think I cant get all of them! - can we start planting?

2) The soil we have is a clay type really. There was a load of dark manure dropped off from the council a few days ago so we have popped this onto the allotment - all over (not sure if this was a rookie mistake? we're trying to increase the topsoil?) I think that means we now can't plant until the manure is bedded in? Should I leave it for a couple of weeks?

3) Which leads me onto the main question - we're quite far into the season!! I know from John's recent newsletter that there are still quite a few bits we can plant but should I buy seeds or plants? (thinking plants would be quicker as we're running out of time?) anyone know where a good place to buy plants is in North London?

I think that's it...
Thanks!

SG6

Re: Newcomer to allotment life...advice gratefully received
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2010, 16:15 »
Glyphosphate is reckoned to be nuetralised when it hits the ground. Wouldn't believe it exactly but after 2-3 weeks you should be OK, if you had said 2-3 days then I would have said wait.