When and What veg for autumn/winter ?

• 5 Replies

mrspodington

« on: June 21, 2007, 09:53 »
Right here I am again it's my first year and I'm really getting into this grow your own thingy.

All my salad veg/fruit are going strong and looking great ( apart from the sweet banan peppers but thats another post ).

So what I want to know now is
a) what can I grow for autumn/winter veg.
b)when should I start to grow.

I have a small garden and everything has to be able to grow in pots or containers, I also have a 9 year old who is taking an intrest so something easy for him would be great along with him I have a 10 month old so anything I grow needs to relativly easy and not overly time consuming due to my lack of it lol. I dont mind putting in some some work but dont think I can find my 26th hour of the day  :lol:

Thanks Vikki.
First year growing, so far, so good.

Aidy

• Location: Born n bred Lancastrian living in tropical Blackpool
    • Aidy Neal Photography
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2007, 11:50 »
The main problem is most of the winter/spring veg tends to be brassica's, ie spring cabbage, sprouting broccoli and they dont lend themself to well too containers, one veg that does spring  :wink:  to mind is dwarf curly kale, I would be suprised if it does'nt do well and you can get green and purple. I am sure other people would suggest veg. You can start sowing now ready to transplant mid summer. oooh just thought, white lisbon spring onions, make sure they are the winter hardy ones, I always grow these as a fresh supply of onion through out the winter.
Punk isn't dead...it's underground where it belongs. If it comes to the surface it's no longer punk...it's Green Day!

Stevens706

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2007, 12:44 »
There is also winter lettuce, sweed and you could even try leeks.
Paul

sclarke624

« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2007, 13:32 »