mystery of dead quails?

• 6 Replies

jobson336

• Experienced Member
mystery of dead quails?
« on: June 14, 2010, 15:28 »
hi, i am totally new to this so forgive me as i have never used this frum before!

ive been keeping chickens for about 2 months now and its great, i have also got (or had 4 quail - 1 male and 3 female) in a seperate hutch with a run.

when i went this morning to feed them there were 2 dead female in the run. its wooden framed and covered with wire mesh, the  birds were dead in the run. i thought that a rat had got them but im beginning to doubt it and want some advicetheres no evidence to suggest a rat got in, i cant see any holes?

they were attacked from the back of the neck, the feathers were stripped off the neck and the neck bloodied. no other injury or damage to the body. they had laid eggs for the first time as well. 2 eggs and 2 dead females? could this be a rat or would the male have done this and why?

please help if anyone can?

thanks
scott

8doubles

Re: mystery of dead quails?
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2010, 15:47 »
Are you rural , a bite to the back of the neck at the base of the skull is a typical weasel, stoat or mink kill.
The old saying is `a weasel will get through a wedding ring' if that gives an idea of the size hole needed for one to get in.

On the other hand cock quail can be psychopaths.

Ps welcome to the forum.
« Last Edit: June 14, 2010, 15:52 by 8doubles »

spider

• Winner - Pumpkin Competition 2012
  • Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2010, 16:11 »
I'm afraid your living Quails are to blame :(

Had the same happen with mine :(

Spider

jobson336

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2010, 16:16 »
thanks for getting back guys, both sound like a possibility as am out in the countryside. is it better to just have female quails on their own then as not really interested in breeding. i assume it is the male that is more aggressive!

spider

• Winner - Pumpkin Competition 2012
  • Experienced Member