Overenthusiastic Hoe'ing

• 17 Replies

Digger Tom

• Experienced Member
Overenthusiastic Hoe'ing
« on: June 03, 2010, 09:42 »
 I havent been to my plot for nearly a week due to work commitment. When i got there this morning the weeds had moved in with avengance. So out came the hoe & I went to work on my sweetcorn bed.
 Unfortunatly I got a bit too hoe'd up & cut down a sweety whildt doing it. I still have 50 odd plants in there but i feel awful about it lol.
 Anyone else ever had hoe-rage before?   >:(

I generaly just stick things in the ground green side up.

prakash_mib

Re: Overenthusiastic Hoe'ing
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2010, 09:51 »
I did ravaged couple of winter onions when I was a hoe trainee! but now a days I keep pulling them by hand as the weeds have gone lesser and lesser  :). It takes time but I enjoy pulling them.
One kid is handful. Two kids.... Example for chaos theory. Hats off to my mum who managed three...

madcat

« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2010, 10:05 »
Took out most of a row of parsnip once  :( ....  have never been allowed to forget it!   ::)
All we need to make us really happy is something to be enthusiastic about (Charles Kingsley)

PennyS

• My website
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2010, 10:49 »
I've found I'm not very good with a hoe.   :ohmy:

So I tend to hand weed around plants and hoe bigger areas.  More time consuming but I get more weeds out.
Lotty holder since Aug 09... I've FINALLY finished clearing it! On with the p.lanting  ....

lucywil

• http://ourallotments.blogspot.com/
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2010, 11:42 »
friendly fire as we like to call it!! one year i planted 30 garlic cloves, i marked the area with some canes so i knew where they were, along comes hubby, moves the canes and proceeds to rotovate the plot!!! i managed to find about 20 of them and replant them.

Stevens706

• Experienced Member
« Reply #5 on: June 03, 2010, 12:35 »
Managed to hoe off my one and only oca plant thought it was a clover plant - DOH
Paul

Yorkie