Broken egg still inside?

• 9 Replies

hillbilly

• Experienced Member
  • Working at Freedom
Broken egg still inside?
« on: May 30, 2010, 10:23 »
I've had my ex-batts since November. Lost one to egg peritonitis but they all seem better now they're having fewer supplements.
They have layers pellets with a small amount of corn and VermX once a month. They free range from about 11 o/c am.
One is very poorly this morning. There was a piece of eggshell protruding from her bum which I very carefully removed. I'm not sure the whole thing came out. She expelled a gush of perfectly clear 'water' after I had pulled the shell free. She seems slightly perkier now and has drunk but not eaten.
Is there anything I can do to encourage her to expel any remaining egg? A bath? The vent looks clean and healthy.
There's no chance of a vet till Tuesday - worried that may be too late.

Hawkins

Re: Broken egg still inside?
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2010, 10:38 »
Im no expert hillbilly hopefully someone more knowledgeable will be around soon but im sure there would be no harm in giving her a warm bath making sure the water covers the vent area and hse may need to be in there 40 mins to an hour. It may help her relax and push out anything remaining.
Em  

We dont stop playing because we grow old, we grow old because we stop playing.

Jeanette

« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2010, 11:15 »
I echo what hillbilly has said. After the bath dry her of with a hair dryer. Hope it works out ok.

Nikkithefoot

« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2010, 12:04 »

There's no chance of a vet till Tuesday - worried that may be too late.

Vets are like doctors they work all hours. Yes it is more expensive 'out of hours' but it is your responsibility to make sure your animals don't suffer. If you were worried about the health of a loved one you would call the doctor regardless of the time of day or night and not wait and 'worry it may be too late'?