new to allotments.....were to start

• 23 Replies

rich.h44

new to allotments.....were to start
« on: May 20, 2010, 20:29 »
hi guys well im new to the allotments(and based in hull if anyones out there) but i am working someones plot till Christmas as there is a big waiting list,
anyway the guy whos it is hasnt been on this year at all and not very much in the last 4 years,so its over grown with weeds and crops he has left in,  :mad: so he past 3 days iv managed to clear a 10ft x 10ft square and got path ways down,iv been given some leaks to plant from a guy a few plots away and im thinking on some patatoes but im not sure what else to put in?! any ideas?
everyone is saying that the plot im on has real good soil but to me it looks real rubbely and nothing like good soil!
so my plans are to get some crops in and move onto the next patch because there is no way im going to clear it all for him,im only clearing what i need!
so what do you guys think i should get in there and how?

sorry for silly questions im new
kind regards
rich

peapod

• Pea Goddess
Re: new to allotments.....were to start
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2010, 20:40 »
Sorry Rich, Im a bit unclear on this

How have you managed to work it? Has he given permission for you to take what bit you need? (Meaning a plot share) or can you take over the plot at Christmas?

Which bit is rubbly, is it part of the plot?
"I think the carrot infinitely more fascinating than the geranium. The carrot has mystery. Flowers are essentially tarts. Prostitutes for the bees. There is, you'll agree, a certain je ne sais quoi oh so very special about a firm young carrot" Withnail and I

Digger Tom

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2010, 20:41 »
 Well you arnt gona be wanting to plant anything that needs a long time to cultivate. 10ftx10ft? seems ideal for some leeks & salad stuff. Lettuce & radish's etc, easy to grow & a nice reward for not much effort.