Advice On Wilting Dwarf French Runner Beans

• 10 Replies

erainn

• Experienced Member
Advice On Wilting Dwarf French Runner Beans
« on: May 18, 2010, 15:31 »
Hi :) I am a newbie to growing veg and need some advice. I sowed indoors some dwarf french runners beans, which germinated and produced a number of healthy seedlings, which are now about 6/7 inches high. Living in Sussex and have tried putting out in our south-facing garden, but I notice if they are in the sun for around 30 minutes the leaves wilt. I thought it may have been a water issue, yet they have the same reaction if its cloudy skies too or cool. Seems they are very sensitive, any help would be most welcome.

JayG

• Global Moderator
Re: Advice On Wilting Dwarf French Runner Beans
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2010, 15:41 »
Did you harden them off before planting them out? Bit of a shock for them if you didn't.

It's not unusual for beans to wilt in the heat at first; their roots haven't quite caught up with the demands from the leaves but they will.
Sow your seeds, plant your plants. What's the difference? A couple of weeks or more when answering possible queries!

One of the best things about being an orang-utan is the fact that you don't lose your good looks as you get older

prakash_mib

« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2010, 15:43 »
probably needs a bit of tlc and slow hardening off. start with an hour and increase by half an hour/day for a week.
I sowed my dwarfs couple of days ago and they will be going out straightaway tomorrow morning regardless of their sprouting status.
One kid is handful. Two kids.... Example for chaos theory. Hats off to my mum who managed three...

erainn

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2010, 15:46 »
thanks for the helpful suggestions, I have tried on and off to leave them out for a short while, but on seeing them wilt tend to bring them back indoors where they revive quickly

gillie

« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2010, 15:51 »