New Chick arrived 2 days ago am worried about water feeder

• 4 Replies

French Chick

Hi There, I am new at rearing a chick and have seperated the mother and chick to another area and have read about Chick feed (which I have brought here in France) What is the chick water holder'? I have put the chick feed mixed with water (I think thats what it says in French on the packet) and I have put water in a china small pot. I also have a water feeder in there - one of those small plastic ones. I have looked in the usual pet areas  and the plastic water holder is the only one they sell, is there a special one for chicks. I am worried now as I don't know if they are drinking any water. It doesn't seem to go down and am I doing the right thing with the feed?

Casey76

Re: New Chick arrived 2 days ago am worried about water feeder
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2010, 08:41 »
Hi :)  Feed the chick crumb dry.  It can go off quickly once it is moinst, and little uns are prone to infections as they haven't got a good immune system yet.

Do you have a Trefle Vert or Agri centre near by?  Normal pet shops are useless for poultry things, you need a big garden centre which stocks equipment for elevage not just an animalerie/zoo.

Even for wee chicks I use a gravity drinker.  You can get them as small as 1L, though 3L is more common - I think mine was about 5 euros.  You can also get a gravity drinker which uses a standard sized plastic bottle (for about 3 euros)

Until you find one, you can use a saucer with a well defined rim and cover the surface with galss marbles to stop the chick falling in and a) getting a chill from being wet or b) drowning

French Chick

« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2010, 10:33 »