hen pecking in anger?

• 3 Replies

chookey

hen pecking in anger?
« on: April 05, 2010, 20:05 »
hi
i am new to chicken keeping.  I bought my first two pol warrens on saturday and let them out on the garden today, not sure if i was a little hasty.  Anyway, one is larger than the other and seems more confident in coming up to you.  I picked her up and stroked her and my 5 year old stroked her too, she's really taken to them.  As I put the hen down, my 5 year old went to stroke her again, but the hen launched itself at my 5 year old and just  missed her eye, just made a mark on her cheek.  Think the hen was just saying leave me alone, but its obviously made her very wary.
My 5 year old had been out with them in the morning (just playing out in the garden, not touching the hens) and the same hen kept coming up to her and pecking her coat and following her, which I thought the hen was being friendly.  I'm not sure i can trust it being out on the garden at the same time as my daughter now.  And will it do it again......? 

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
Re: hen pecking in anger?
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2010, 20:08 »
some of my girls will peck my feet and legs but it is purely to get my attention (the others just run in front of me and trip me up), they don't mean it to be nasty. The trouble is children are smaller than us and so hens will be able to peck higher up. I hope it hasn't put your little one off.
Staffies are softer than you think.

TeaPots

« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2010, 22:24 »
Oh dear
Maybe best to teach your little to throw the corn as far as she can?  My lots love to scratch around hunting for the corn, and it keeps them out from under my feet, when I am working in there.

dizzylizzie

« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2010, 23:25 »