sorry if this is DOH

• 13 Replies

flitwickone

• We Dig For Victory
sorry if this is DOH
« on: March 25, 2010, 23:14 »
after reading many posts  :)and forums i seeded  my carrots in toilet rolls  LOL  they have sprouted big time ten to a roll  maybe scissor time....lol advise please

thin in what way or just go with the flow
thx in advance

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
Re: sorry if this is DOH
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2010, 23:35 »
Hi Flitwick.  I'm not an expert on carrots, but I know they don't like being moved, or are you thinking of leaving them to grow in the loo roll inners?  If you are, they'd need to be 1 per loo roll!  I usually sow my carrots directly either into the ground or container, then thin out as necessary.  If they are too close together they won't get very big.

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2010, 07:48 »
I'd snip them back to the strongest one and transplant as soon as the weather allows. Make sure the loo roll is wet when you transplant

At least you know now, not to sow so thickly. A steep learning curve at the beginning, isn't it 8)

flitwickone

• We Dig For Victory
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2010, 20:52 »
yes very i shall get the scissors out soon ??? thx for the replies

PAULW

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2010, 05:11 »
Leave them alone, as they grow they will push each other apart then as you remove the biggest to eat the others will grow to fill the space,
THIN THEM OUT HAVE YOU WORKED OUT HOW MUCH CARROT SEED COSTS!

pink aubergine

• Experienced Member
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2010, 08:23 »
I agree with PAULW, leave them be. Carefully thin them out as baby carrots as they get bigger maybe,but with any luck they will be in the ground and the toilet rolls will have disintegrated by then.