Roosts/Perches

• 9 Replies

Burny

Roosts/Perches
« on: March 24, 2010, 21:39 »
Hi everybody,
I'm a newbie to keeping chickens, and have just got three POL's which have sarted laying within 2 days of getting them home.
Please can anyone tell me if a roost is the same as a perch, the reason being I have built my own coop but did not put any in. Are they necessary, if so what are the specifications for 3 hens.
Thanks in advance.

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
Re: Roosts/Perches
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2010, 21:44 »
Each hen needs about 12" of roosting space on a perch. Make the edges of the perch rounded and make them about 2" wide. Depending on what breed you have can effect the heights of the perch - heavy breeds can injur themselves jumping down so either have them about 18" of the ground or have a ladder up to the perch. Make the perch higher than the nesting boxes.
Staffies are softer than you think.

lucylou

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2010, 21:46 »
Hello Burny! welcome to the site.  How lovely that you are already getting eggs from your girls.  What type of girls have you got?  lucyloux

lucylou

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2010, 21:49 »
Oh - forgot to say, most hens use a perch instinctively but 2 of mine dont.  It is best to give them the option of a perch as that is what they have been designed to sleep on!! :D

Burny

« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2010, 22:10 »
 Thanks for your replies so quickly, I have 2 bluebells and 1 light sussex, the supplier I got them from didnt have any roosts in the 'sheds' so I didn't think it was important. I will certainly sort it out tomorrow for my little girls, and like you say Lucylou, at least they got a choice.

Sassy

« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2010, 07:53 »