Dwarf Broad Beans

• 11 Replies

drippin

Dwarf Broad Beans
« on: March 20, 2010, 11:55 »
Am going out this afternoon to buy some dwarf broad bean seeds - know it's a bit late, but  but I'm a newbie and not very organised.  Notice some people start them off in newpaper pots, but guess I am rather late for that.  Would I be best to pop them straight in the ground, or use pots first, and if pots, would a light unheated garage be a good place to keep them?  Or.............. have just thought, maybe I should blow the expense and buy plants this year, since I have been so disorganised.

HilaryG

• Experienced Member
  • l
Re: Dwarf Broad Beans
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2010, 12:09 »
I'm sure it's not too late to start some in paper pots. I started mine about 2 wks ago in an unheated greenhouse and they're just through now. Tomorrow I shall put some straight into the ground, assuming it's not pouring with rain like it is now >:( 
The less time you have, the more becomes available.

digalotty

« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2010, 12:13 »
same here i will put them straight in the ground when the weather lets me :wub:
when im with my 9yr old she's the sensible one

fletcherbaker

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2010, 12:48 »
i planted 1 bean in a 3inch pot,i did 4 pots like this and they all came up at the same time a week ago there going outside next week  :D

dougsta

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2010, 12:51 »
If you were in the South like me I'd say whack 'em straight in the ground.
Why not do a few of each and see what happens?
If at first you don't succeed..... cheat!

drippin

« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2010, 13:37 »
Yes, I will do a few of each, that's a good idea.

Thanks

solway cropper

« Reply #6 on: March 20, 2010, 23:06 »
If the dwarf variety is 'Sutton' they are quite happy growing in containers and will give a good crop. I currently have 2 tubs of them in an unheated greenhouse and will get another 2 going over the next few weeks.