Brassica abuse

• 9 Replies

oldcow

• Experienced Member
Brassica abuse
« on: March 11, 2010, 10:15 »
I'm a total newbie, so be gentle... I can find answers to good questions on this forum or googling, so the ones I'm going to post are likely to be the stupid ones...
I have started some brassicas indoors (calabrese, tendergreen broccoli, some cabbage). I threw away almost all the first batch since they were too leggy. After reading the relevant posts here, the second batch was less mollycoddled, and it was kicked out of the (unheated) propagator and put under a large skylight as soon as the plants were visible (DD, before you say something, I'm using the tinfoil method, which got some derogatory "wife having a blue peter moment" comments from the hubby).
Now I have a second batch going, but they seem to be growing very, very  slowly. I know this depends on temperature/conditions/sunlight, but on average after how many weeks should the plants get 1/2/3 sets of real leaves? I also wonder if my putting them out a few days ago in the nice afternoon sun, and finding them "fainted" in totally dry soil a few hours later, might have stunted their growth. They recovered as soon as watered, buy hey who knows the scars that trauma can leave in a brassica's psyche... I read somewhere that plants that have experienced that might not be very productive. Should I cull this batch too and restart? I feel a bit like Herod at the moment...
Maybe I'm being paranoid, but seeing the big healthy calabrese plants at the garden centre yesterday made me wonder if my babies might be some big time underachievers...

goodegg

Re: Brassica abuse
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2010, 10:46 »